Remarkable Men

By @orangeone4

Men of conviction, courage and dedication to the freedoms men and women have lost their lives to defend.

Clarence Thomas 3

Associate Justice Clarence Thomas

Whoa, when CNN publishes an article written by a nationally syndicated columnist with the Washington Post Writers Group with a brazen headline: “Clarence Thomas is right about race” it is time for the Earth to stop revolving.

For over one-quarter of a century I have admired Clarence Thomas, an associate Justice sitting on the United States Supreme Court.  Thomas is a man of principle, has lived his life according to his faith, the laws of this country, worked hard to complete his education and achieve his goals. His recent statement at a Florida college has garnered a lot of attention.

My sadness is that we are probably today more race and difference-conscious than I was in the 1960s when I went to school,’ Thomas told the audience. ‘To my knowledge, I was the first black kid in Savannah, Georgia, to go to a white (Catholic) school. Rarely did the issue of race come up.’

‘The worst I have been treated was by northern liberal elites. (emphasis added)  The absolute worst I have ever been treated,’ the 65-year-old justice said. ‘The worst things that have been done to me, the worst things that have been said about me, are by northern liberal elites, not by the people of Savannah, Georgia,’ his hometown.

I live in the north and my dear blogger friend @Belle_River lives in the south. Our lifetime experiences are consistent with Justice Thomas’ statement!  I was an adult during Thomas’ confirmation hearings and watched the complete coverage.  To say it was a witch-hunt greatly minimizes the outright discrimination I witnessed.  It was utterly shameful and has resonated with me since.

Senator Tim Scott

Senator Tim Scott_3

From the moment I first heard this man speak, I knew our country was blessed with a United States Senator that will forever demonstrate his wisdom, life experiences and faith in our Lord.

Read FourCornersUSA feature blog on Senator Scott here.

Usain Bolt

Usain Bolt

Thanks to two of my favorite tweeps, I now know who Usain Bolt is and the striking respect this man has for the United States.  Be sure to watch the video clips! Can you name his country?

